NTUC Income Insurance Co-Operative Limited v Noel Martin Carlin
[2026] SGHC 48 · HC/RAS 15/2025 · cites 4 cases (3 Singapore, 1 foreign)
Step 1: What happened
The respondent, Mr Noel Martin Carlin, was injured in a road traffic accident and received payouts under a medical insurance policy that his employer had bought for its staff and paid for in full. The appellant, NTUC Income Insurance Co-operative Limited, insured the tortfeasor and intervened in the assessment of damages, arguing that the payouts should be deducted from the damages payable so that the respondent would not recover twice.
The Deputy Registrar held that the payouts should not be deducted, and the District Judge upheld that decision but granted leave to appeal because the point was of some importance. The appeal came to the High Court as Registrar's Appeal from the State Courts No 15 of 2025. At the court's direction the parties agreed that the amount in dispute was $35,463.91. The question was how the test in Lo Kok Jong v Eng Beng [2024] 1 SLR 964, which concerned government subsidies, applies to insurance bought by an employer.
Step 2: What the court had to decide
- Whether the respondent had contributed to the employer's insurance so as to bring the payouts within the insurance exception to the rule against double recovery
- Whether the respondent's own oral evidence was enough to show that contribution
- How the indemnity, source and group factors from Eng Beng bore on the objective intended purpose of the payouts
Step 3: How the court reasoned
Under Eng Beng, whether a collateral payment escapes the rule against double recovery turns on its objective intended purpose, judged with four non-exhaustive indicia: contribution by the plaintiff, whether the payment is an indemnity for the same loss, its source, and the group to whom it is available. For insurance payouts, contribution is the key factor.
The appellant argued, relying on English and Canadian authority, that an employer paying the premiums cannot count as contribution by the employee without proof of bargaining or a direct payment. The judge held that neither line of authority laid down a hard rule, and Eng Beng treated the differing approaches as a disagreement about facts rather than principle. Here the respondent testified that he weighed the whole package, including medical and life insurance, when accepting the job and would have sought a higher salary without such cover. That showed consideration given up for the insurance, and his evidence was sufficient. The appellant called no evidence to rebut it. Because the case fell within the established insurance exception, the contribution finding was enough to decide the appeal.
On the other indicia, the indemnity factor carries less weight for insurance than for pensions or wage benefits. The source factor applies generally and a third-party source pointed towards non-deduction. On the group factor, public policy arguments about many plaintiffs recovering twice were discouraged, and although the policy covered all staff, only a smaller group actually received payouts. Weighed together, the indicia showed the payouts were meant to benefit the respondent on top of any damages.
“The evidence was not simply that the respondent’s employer paid for the insurance premiums, but that the respondent assessed the medical insurance as part of his employment package and there was a direct correlation between the salary that was sought and the package that was provided”
[2026] SGHC 48 at [20]
Step 4: The order
The High Court dismissed the appeal. The insurance payouts from the employer's policy were not to be deducted from the damages payable by the tortfeasor, and the respondent was entitled to keep both.
The order in the court's words
Appeal dismissed“I therefore dismissed the appeal.”
Source: [2026] SGHC 48, High Court, decided 4 March 2026. Read directly from the judgment.
Court record
Key facts
| Court | High Court |
|---|---|
| Decided | |
| Judge | Alex Wong Li Kok |
| What the case was about | Damages, Insurance |
| Outcome | Appeal dismissed |
Source: [2026] SGHC 48, High Court, decided — eLitigation. Updated .
Judge
- Alex Wong Li Kok Delivered the judgment
Parties
- NTUC Income Insurance Co-operative Limited Appellant
- Noel Martin Carlin Respondent
Counsel
- Central Chambers Law Corporation Firm
- Mark Ho En Tian
- Ramasamy s/o Karuppan Chettiar
- Securus Legal LLC Firm
- Samson Woon Wing Thai
- Teo Weng Kie
Cases cited (4)
- Lim Chee Seng v Phang Yew Kiat [2024] SGHC 100
- Choo Yew Liang Sebastian v Koh Yew Teck [2024] SGHC 212
- [2024] 1 SLR 964
- [2004] 1 WLR 2683
Related cases
Other Singapore judgments on the same subject, most closely matched first.
-
The court allowed the claim in part, awarding $17,000 for pain and suffering, $10,000 for loss of earning capacity, $2,400 for physiotherapy, $1,200 for medication and $18,104.78 for pre-trial loss…
District Court · 13 October 2026 · [2026] SGDC 338 -
The District Court allowed the claim in part.
District Court · 5 October 2026 · [2026] SGDC 327 -
The tribunal allowed the claim in part, awarding the claimant $5 rather than the $1,630 claimed, ordered the respondent to pay that sum by 12 October 2026, and made no order as to costs or…
Small Claims Tribunal · 14 September 2026 · [2026] SGSCT 24 -
The Appellate Division allowed the appeal in part and awarded UOB $76,105,998.81, with post-judgment interest structured as set out in the judgment, and costs of $50,000 (all-in) to UOB.
High Court (Appellate Division) · 24 August 2026 · [2026] SGHC(A) 21 -
The court allowed the claim in part, assessing damages on a 100% basis at $1,500 for the neck strain, $3,500 for the lower back injury, medical expenses of $12,252.02 and transport of $120, for a…
District Court · 27 July 2026 · [2026] SGDC 242 -
District Judge Sia Aik Kor found that Thiru failed to prove on a balance of probabilities the quantum of JBR's profits and therefore his damages for loss of opportunity, so no such damages were…
District Court · 1 July 2026 · [2026] SGDC 214
Read the full judgment
The judgment itself is on the official Singapore Courts portal.
Read on eLitigationSource: eLitigation ([2026] SGHC 48)
This page sets out what the court decided, for learning. It is information, not legal advice. Disclaimer