Argoglobal Underwriting Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd. and others v Overseas-Chinese Banking Corporation Limited
[2026] SGCA 14 · CA/CA 18/2025 · cites 14 cases (8 Singapore, 6 foreign)
Step 1: What happened
Oversea-Chinese Banking Corp Ltd (OCBC) was the mortgagee of the jackup rig TERAS LYZA and a co-assured, with the owner and manager, under a hull and machinery policy written by five insurers, the appellants. Section A insured the rig for US$56m. On its maiden voyage, a wet tow from Vung Tau, Vietnam to Taichung, Taiwan, the rig developed a list and capsized on 5 June 2018. It stayed afloat upside down and was towed by salvors to Batangas Bay, where divers inspected it in late July 2018. The owners served a notice of abandonment claiming a constructive total loss, which the insurers rejected. After brokers reported no scrap buyers, the salvors scuttled the rig in deep water on 20 August 2018.
OCBC sued on the policy in Suit No 814 of 2021, relying on the cover for perils of the seas. The High Court judge found that the capsize was caused by perils of the seas and that the rig was a constructive total loss, admitting the owners' correspondence, quotations and reports as business records although no witness proved them. The insurers appealed in Civil Appeal No 18 of 2025.
Step 2: What the court had to decide
- Whether OCBC proved that the loss was caused by perils of the seas, including whether the presumption of loss by perils of the seas applied
- Whether OCBC proved that the rig was a constructive total loss on admissible evidence
- Whether there was a breach of warranty or of the duty of fair presentation
- Whether OCBC proved its indebtedness under the mortgage
Step 3: How the court reasoned
An insured must prove a fortuity, and showing that seawater entered the vessel only proves that the peril was maritime. There are two routes. Direct proof requires the insured to put forward a cause of the ingress, or at least a set of possible causes that are all fortuitous, and to prove it on a balance of probabilities. Alternatively, a rebuttable presumption applies where a seaworthy vessel is lost in wholly unexplained circumstances. Drawing on The Popi M and The Marel, and comparing the res ipsa loquitur rule in Grace Electrical Engineering Pte Ltd v Te Deum Engineering Pte Ltd, the court held that the presumption is available only where the insured genuinely cannot find out the cause. It does not cover gaps created by the way the insured chose to run its case.
The judge had effectively reversed the burden by treating rejection of the insurers' theory as proof of OCBC's case. OCBC's expert estimated about 450 tonnes of ingress but offered no likely cause, and its own expert ruled out wind and waves. The rig was seaworthy at the start of the tow, but its loss was not wholly unexplained. It stayed afloat for around 76 days, the tug crew survived, and no one was instructed to investigate the cause. As mortgagee, OCBC stood in the owner's shoes. Inferring a peril of the seas by elimination would mean accepting an improbable case.
On constructive total loss, OCBC pleaded no facts showing that recovery and repair costs exceeded the insured value and called no witness on the point. It relied on documents first raised in closing submissions. The owners' correspondence, the notice of abandonment, the quotations and the brokers' replies were prepared with the claim in view and were not business records. The quotations were also opinion evidence from unidentified makers. Only the salvors' dive report and the casualty reports qualified, and they contained no costs. Excusing the missing hearsay notice prejudiced the insurers, who could not cross-examine on the documents. In any event, the documents did not prove that costs exceeded the insured value: one quotation was for a new rig, another assumed wholesale replacement before the damage was surveyed, and the insurers' email was not an admission. SCOPIC salvage costs, following Connect Shipping Inc v Sveriges Angfartygs Assurans Forening, were probably not recoverable costs at all.
“It is important to bear in mind that the rebuttable presumption is not intended to operate as an evidential tool of convenience.”
[2026] SGCA 14 at [3]
“The presumption should not be used to overcome shortcomings in the evidence arising from the manner in which a claimant has chosen to prove his case.”
[2026] SGCA 14 at [89]
Step 4: The order
The Court of Appeal allowed the appeal, holding that OCBC had failed to prove either loss by perils of the seas or a constructive total loss, and that either finding alone sufficed. It upheld the judge's findings on warranties, fair presentation and indebtedness. Costs of the appeal were fixed at $100,000 inclusive of disbursements, payable by OCBC to the insurers, with submissions to follow on the costs below.
The order in the court's words
Appeal allowed“…we allow the appeal.”
Source: [2026] SGCA 14, Court of Appeal, decided 19 March 2026. Read directly from the judgment.
Court record
Key facts
| Court | Court of Appeal |
|---|---|
| Decided | |
| Judges | Hri Kumar Nair, Steven Chong, Sundaresh Menon |
| What the case was about | Evidence, Insurance |
| Outcome | Appeal allowed |
Source: [2026] SGCA 14, Court of Appeal, decided — eLitigation. Updated .
Judges
- Hri Kumar Nair
- Steven Chong Delivered the judgment
- Sundaresh Menon
Parties
- Argoglobal Underwriting Asia Pacific Pte Ltd Appellant
- China Taiping Insurance (Singapore) Pte Ltd Appellant
- Great American Insurance Company Appellant
- MS First Capital Insurance Limited Appellant
- Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation Limited Respondent
- QBE Insurance (Singapore) Pte Ltd Appellant
Counsel
- Chan Leng Sun LLC Firm
- Incisive Law LLC Firm
- Tan Jun Hong LLC Firm
- Chan Leng Sun
- Glenn Tennyson Ong
- Loh Wai Yue
- Martin Lee Wey Vern
- Prakash Nair
- Seow Hwang Seng John
- Tan Jun Hong
- WongPartnership LLP Firm
- Alexis Loy
- Deya Shankar Dubey
- Jayakumar Suryanarayanan
- Lim Jingzhen Jerrick
- Tan Chee Meng
- Tan Kai Yun
- Teo Jen Min
Statutes cited
Cases cited (14)
- [2003] SGHC 80
- [2021] SGHC 9
- [2014] 4 SLR 1077
- [2015] 2 SLR 686
- [2015] 5 SLR 1322
- [2018] 1 SLR 76
- [2022] 1 SLR 136
- [2023] 1 SLR 1553
- [1901] AC 362
- [1941] AC 55
- [1950] 1 All ER 392
- [1985] 1 WLR 948
- [2013] EWHC 3644
- [2019] 4 All ER 885
Related cases
Other Singapore judgments on the same subject, most closely matched first.
-
The court allowed OCBC's claim in part, awarding payment under Section A for the insured value of US$56m on the basis that the rig was lost to perils of the seas.
High Court · 30 April 2025 · [2025] SGHC 82 -
The Singapore International Commercial Court dismissed the claims in their entirety, holding them defeated on several independent grounds, and directed that QBE was entitled to its reasonable costs,…
Singapore International Commercial Court · 8 January 2025 · [2025] SGHC(I) 1 -
The High Court allowed the intervener's application.
High Court · 30 September 2026 · [2026] SGHC 204 -
The High Court allowed Mr Goh's oppression claim and ordered Mr Yeo to buy out all his shares in the group companies at a price fixed by an independent valuer as at the date of judgment, applying a…
High Court · 29 July 2026 · [2026] SGHC 157 -
The court allowed the application in part.
High Court · 13 March 2026 · [2026] SGHC 53 -
The High Court dismissed Ng's appeal against conviction and allowed both appeals against sentence in part, reducing the fraudulent trading terms to four and a half years for Leong and four years for…
High Court · 7 January 2026 · [2026] SGHC 5
Referenced in
Statutes interpreted in this judgment
Read the full judgment
The judgment itself is on the official Singapore Courts portal.
Read on eLitigationSource: eLitigation ([2026] SGCA 14)
This page sets out what the court decided, for learning. It is information, not legal advice. Disclaimer